Welcome to Petrelli Law’s Voorhees, NJ Office
Divorce is never easy, but a good attorney can simplify the legal process and help you towards a better future. The divorce attorneys at Petrelli Law specialize in helping families create mutually beneficial divorce agreements through mediation, collaboration, and, when necessary, litigation. We offer creative solutions to disputes involving the division of assets, child custody, child support and spousal support. While Petrelli Law is best-known for our handling of complex and high asset divorce cases, we offer a full range of family law services including divorce, child custody and support, adoption and estate planning. Contact Petrelli Law to learn how we can help you reach your divorce and custody goals.
Our New Jersey office is conveniently located at One Echelon Plaza.
227 Laurel Road, Suite 100
Voorhees, NJ 08043
Petrelli Law’s Voorhees office is open by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, call 201-655-7204 or use our online scheduler.
Frequently Asked Questions about New Jersey Divorce
How long must I live in New Jersey before I can file for divorce in Voorhees?
In order to file for divorce in New Jersey, you or your spouse must have resided in the state for at least one year. The only exception is when adultery is the grounds for the divorce. In this case, either you or your spouse must be a New Jersey resident.
What are the grounds for divorce in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, a spouse must have a reason or “grounds” for requesting a divorce. The most common grounds for divorce in Voorhees is irreconcilable differences. Other grounds for divorce in New Jersey include:
- Abandonment or desertion lasting 12 months or longer
- Deviant sexual behavior
- Extreme cruelty
- Habitual drunkenness or voluntary addiction lasting 12 months or longer
- Incarceration for eighteen months preceding the request for divorce
- Institutionalization for a mental illness lasting 24 months or more
- Separation for eighteen months or longer
Is there a mandatory waiting period before a New Jersey divorce is granted?
Although, some grounds for divorce in New Jersey have a time requirement, there is no mandatory waiting period before a divorce can become final. The Administrative Office of the Courts in New Jersey has mandated that divorces to be completed within one year of the filing of the divorce complaint; however, complex divorces may take longer than a year.
Which forms do I need to file for a divorce in Cherry Hill?
You must file a “Complaint for Divorce”. There are four different forms. The form you use will depend on your grounds for divorce. You will also need to complete a “Filing Letter to the Court—Complaint Form” which says you are filing for divorce, a “Certification of Insurance where you list all your insurance coverage, a “Certification of Notification of Complementary Dispute Resolution” confirming that you know about mediation, and a “Confidential Litigant Information Sheet”. If there are any issues involving custody, support, alimony, or the division of debts and assets, you will need to file a “Family Part Case Information Statement”.
What can I do if I am unable to serve the divorce papers to my spouse?
If the Sheriff or courier service is unable to deliver the divorce papers to your spouse, you have the option of service by publication. Service by publication allows you to serve your spouse by publishing a notification of the divorce proceedings in a general-circulations newspaper. You must have the permission of the court before you can serve by publication. The court will tell you which publication you may use to publish the service.